Where’s the (Italian) Beef???

English: An Italian Beef Sandwich from Portill...

There’s little doubt that the real estate market is picking up – and that’s putting it mildly!  New home construction in the Minneapolis area is reported to be up 80%.  Existing homes are selling like hotcakes (and no, I have no idea why hotcakes are used as an example), often with multiple offers.  There’s a lot of pent up buyer demand out there and not enough houses for sale to go around.  But enough of that real estate talk.  Today’s subject is restaurants – specifically, Italian restaurants in the Minneapolis area.  And the question is: where are they???

I know of excellent, authentic, non-chain Italian restaurants in St. Louis (my favorite) and Chicago.  I even know of very, very good local places to get genuine Italian beef sandwiches, Chicago dogs, etc (Chris and Rob’s at 3101 E 42nd St – check ’em out at www.chrisandrobs.com or better yet, stop by).  But the question that remains is, where are the great dine-in, full service Italian restaurants in the area?

I’m looking for a place that looks like it’s been there since the days of prohibition, dimly lit, with autographed pictures on the walls of all the celebrities who have visited.  It must be operated by a real Italian family who has had the restaurant for a very long time.  It must have genuine Italian food, not the Americanized versions.  And they must, must, must have great cannoli for dessert, even if it isn’t on the menu.  Is that asking for too much??

Admittedly I haven’t personally visited each and every Italian restaurant in the area.  If I did I wouldn’t be able to scoot up close enough to my keyboard to type (the dreaded midriff bulge).  So help me out.  There must be something like I’m craving somewhere in the greater Minneapolis area.  Where, oh, where are you, my newest and most favorite Italian eatery???  I know you’re out there so show yourself!

As usual, have a terrific house buying/selling day!  Send me your referrals for business and also your recommendations for a restaurant!

About Bob Gilbert, GRI

Realtor with Edina Realty, Prior Lake, MN
This entry was posted in Minneapolis Area Info, Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

